All participants receive a competitive salary whilst on the programme, including being paid to train in the first year. Depending on subject and placement school location, participants can up to £33,900 in year one.

As well as a full salary and pension, your training fees are paid for you. Maths and physics participants are eligible for a significant salary uplift in the first two years of the programme. Please note that you will be employed by your placement school and will be expected to stay in that school for your first two years of teaching.

Maths and Physics Specialists

  Inner London Outer London London Fringe National
Base Salary (Unqualified Teacher Pay Scale)  £20,909  £19,749  £17,718  £16,626
Uplift  £13,000  £13,000  £13,000  £13,000
Total salary of up to  £33,909  £32,749  £30,718  £29,626

Other Subjects

Inner London Outer London London Fringe National
Base Salary (Unqualified Teacher Pay Scale)  £20,909  £19,749  £17,718  £16,626

Information on Regional Salaries

As detailed in the table above, salaries will vary according to the location of your placement school. The Department for Education defines the four regions as Inner London, Outer London, London Fringe and National. Please find below a definition of these areas (please note: any regions not mentioned in the lists below fall in the ‘national’ category).


Inner London

The area comprising the London boroughs of:

Barking and Dagenham, Brent, Camden, City of London, Ealing, Greenwich, Hackney, Hammersmith and Fulham, Haringey, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Lambeth, Lewisham, Merton, Newham, Southwark, Tower Hamlets, Wandsworth and Westminster.


Outer London

The area comprising the London boroughs of:

Barnet, Bexley, Bromley, Croydon, Enfield, Harrow, Havering, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Kingston-upon-Thames, Redbridge, Richmond-upon-Thames, Sutton and Waltham Forest.


London Fringe

in Berkshire – the districts of Bracknell Forest, Slough, and Windsor and Maidenhead;
in Buckinghamshire – the districts of South Buckinghamshire and Chiltern;
in Essex – the districts of Basildon, Brentwood, Epping Forest, Harlow and Thurrock;
in Hertfordshire – the districts of Broxbourne, Dacorum, East Hertfordshire, Hertsmere, St Albans, Three Rivers, Watford and Welwyn Hatfield;
in Kent – the districts of Dartford and Sevenoaks;
in Surrey – the whole county; and
in West Sussex – the district of Crawley.